Intercultural Cancer Council (ICC)

INTERCULTURAL CANCER COUNCIL (ICC)

 

OVERVIEW

The Intercultural Cancer Council promotes policies, programs, partnerships, and research to eliminate the unequal burden of cancer among racial and ethnic minorities and medically undeserved populations in the United States and its associated territories.

 

GOAL

To ensure that these provide funding that further our efforts to eliminate the unequal burden of cancer among racial and ethnic minorities and medically undeserved populations in the United States and its associated territories. Read more.

 

ICC REGIONAL NETWORK

The ICC works through a regional network to improve communities throughout the nation.

 

Personnel

Patricia Matthews-Juarez, Ph.D., Project Director (PCMH), ICC Chair
Vice President, Faculty Affairs & Development, President Immed Office
Meharry Medical College
Tel: (615) 327-6718          Email: pmatthews-juarez@mmc.edu

Thelma C. Hurd, MD, FACS, ICC Chair Elect, Associate Professor
Division of Surgical Oncology, Department of Surgery
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Dileep G. Bal, MD, MS, MPH, ICC Immediate Past Chair
Hawaii Department of Health
District Health Officer, Kauai District Health Office
Email: Dileep.g.bbal@doh.hawaii.gov

Col (Ret.) James E. Williams, Jr., MS, SPHR, ICC Past Chair
Principal, Jim Williams and Associates
Chair, Pennsylvania Prostate Cancer Coalition (PPCC)
Member, Board of Directors Alliance for Prostate Cancer Prevention (APCaP)
Vice President, Intercultural Cancer council Caucus (ICCC)
Member, Patient Advocacy Committee, Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology
Jimpc2@comcast.net

Armin D. Weinberg, PhD, ICC Co-Founder and Past Co Chair
Email: Arminw46@gmail.com

Sharon Barrett, DrPh., MS, ICC Secretary
Mid-Atlantic Regional Leader
Email: Semily1@gmail.com

Lovell A. Jones, PhD, ICC Co-Founder
Past Co-Chair
Email: Lajones1249@gmail.com

Lee Ellen Buenconsejo-Lum, MD, FAAFP, ICC Treasurer
Associate Professor and Dept. Vice chair
Department of Family Medicine and Community Health
John A. Burns School of Medicine
University of Hawaii
Email: Ibuencon@hawaii.edu

 

Interim Governing Board Members

Jennie R. Cook, President, ICC Caucus-Ex-officio
Past Chairman, National Board of Directors
American Cancer Society
Email: Reginacook19@gmail.com

Barbara Sapp Davis, MSN, RN, CNOR, Member, National Board of Directors
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People
Email: Barbara.Davis3@va.gov

Bobbie de Cordova-Hanks, Member-at-Large
Founder, Bosom Buddies
Co-Founder, Speakers for Life
Email: Bdechks@ix.netcom.com

Linda Fleisher, MPH, PhD, Northeast Regional Leader
Senior Scientist
The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP)
The Center for Injury Reseasrch and Prevention
Email: Fleisherl@emial.chop.edu

Neal A. Palafox, MD, MPH, Pacific Island Regional Leader, Professor
Department of Family Practice and Community Health
Johns A. Burns School of Medicine
University of Hawaii
Email: Npalafox@hawaii.edu

Westley Sholes, MPA
Vice president of Health Programs
National Association of Black County Officials
Email: Wsholes99@gmail.com

Frank Talamantes, PhD, Member-at-Large
University of California at Santa Cruz
Emeritus Professor
Lactogen@mouseplacenta.com

Evaon C. Wong-Kim, LCSW, MPH, PHD, Member-at-Large
Chair and Professor
Department of Social Work
California State University, East Bay
Email: Evaon@csueastbay.edu

Pamela M. Jackson, MS, Executive Director
Intercultural Cancer Council
Email: Pjackson012@comcast.net

 

 

EVENTS

Christmas Goes Pink.